ARPA E-News November 2017

Gutenberg highlighted at the new Museum of the Bible

Eternity News reports:

When Museum of the Bible opens its doors on November 17, just three blocks from the US Capitol building in Washington DC, guests will enter through two towering, 12-metre-tall gates, each weighing more than 12 tonnes. Made of bronze, the so-called “Gutenberg Gates”, created by artist Larry Kirkland, bear the first 30 verses of the Bible in Latin as found in the Gutenberg Bible, the first major work created using the printing press. However, the text is in reverse, as in a printing plate, so that visitors can create souvenir rubbings.

Full article at:

If any ARPA member is visiting the Museum in the near future, please let the ARPA EO know. We would love to have a first-hand report and it could be an article for all our members.

Ramon Williams Scholarship for 2018

Notice for the 2018 scholarship will be sent out in February, following the review at the ARPA executive meeting. Keep this in mind now and think of someone your publication could nominate. Note essential criteria:

  • The applicant must be no more than thirty three years of age at the time of application.
  • The applicant must include in their application the name of a member publication or agency of ARPA that has nominated them to apply.

The Harvey Weinstein affair

Among the many articles and news items I found these two articles quite sobering in terms of journalism. Comments and opinions welcome: Peter Bentley

Jim Rutenberg (Mediator: October 7, 2017): Extract below:

… Let’s hope that those in the know did not include members of the Los Angeles Press Club, which this year gave Mr. Weinstein its “Truthteller Award,” calling him an example of “integrity and social responsibility,” along with Jay-Z. (The mogul received the honor because of his producing “Time: The Kalief Browder Story,” a Spike TV documentary series about a 16-year-old who spent three years in Rikers Island awaiting a trial that never took place.)

The Press Club might want to rethink the award given that Mr. Weinstein has hired the emerging leader of anti-press jurisprudence, Charles Harder, who brought the case that put Gawker out of business last year. …

and Lee Smith – Silence of the Enablers: Harvey Weinstein’s secret kept by the media (The Australian: 14th October 2017; extract below and yes I bought the weekend print edition). Any feedback on this and the whole digital revolution welcome.

… That’s why the story about Weinstein finally broke now. It’s because the media industry that once protected him has collapsed. The magazines that used to publish the stories Miramax optioned can’t afford to pay for the kind of reporting and storytelling that translates into screenplays. They’re broke because Facebook and Google have swallowed all the digital advertising money that was supposed to save the press as print advertising continued to tank. …

Executive Meetings

The executive held a teleconference on Monday 16th October.

Louise Mackay (Anglican Encounter Newcastle, NSW) has been co-opted to the executive as Minutes Secretary. We are grateful for Louise taking on this role and also for her contributions to the executive.

The Sydney based meeting will be February 2-3, 2018 at Stanmore House.

If you are visiting Sydney over the summer and need a place to stay check out Stanmore House at the Salvation Army Sydney Location.

ARPA Social Media

Let Sophia know of any news to link for our Facebook postings.

It is great to see the 2017 Conference photos being accessed. Thank you to Mark Tronson for his invaluable assistance with taking many of the photos during the awards night.

2018 ARPA Conference: Brisbane

Add the dates to your diary now: 7-8 September 2018, and note the Catholic Media Congress from 4 September (incorporating the ACPA Conference)

ARPA Executive (Contact details please see the ARPA directory)

The ARPA Executive for 2017-2018

President: Peter Bentley

NZ Vice-President and Communications Officer: Sophia Sinclair

Australian Vice-President: Mark Brolly

Treasurer: Allan Sauer

Executive Officer: Elizabeth Harris.

Minutes Secretary: Louise Mackay