ARPA, the Australasian Religious Press Association, is an ecumenical Christian communication network for Australian and New Zealand publications and their editors, journalists, designers and contributors.



ARPA would like to thank our 2019 conference attendees.

We look forward to seeing you in Perth in 2020.




ARPA would like to thank our 2018 conference sponsors Neumann and Turnour Lawyers, Openbook Howden Print and Design, NZ Baptist, and Anglicare, Southern Queensland.




ARPA would like to thank our 2017 conference sponsors CBM Australia, Bible Society NZ, Dove Ministries, Openbook Howden and Blue Sky Creative.




2016 Sydney


ARPA would like to thank our 2016 conference sponsors Wesley Mission and CBM Australia.

See the ARPA Blog for the full list of 2016 Award Winners.


Who we are


ARPA exists to help Christian publications and their staff to better understand and fulfil the work that Christ wills to be done through the Christian press in Australia and New Zealand.

Our purpose

ARPA seeks to fulfil three main objectives: 

  1. to enhance the effectiveness and quality of Christian publications, the professionalism and faith of their staff;

  2. to maintain a network of fellowship and communications among those working for or interested in Christian press; and

  3. to pursue areas of common concern or mutual benefit to ARPA members.

Our major activities

Chapters are organised in each state and New Zealand, and New Zealand groups meet in Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

The annual conference provides a weekend (Friday lunch to Sunday) of challenge, stimulation, training, discussion, fellowship, worship and fun. The annual general meeting is also held at this time. Conferences rotate among the states and New Zealand. The 2011 Conference was held in Adelaide, 2012 in Wellington NZ, 2013 in Melbourne, 2014 in Canberra, 2015 in Brisbane, 2016 in Sydney, 2017 in Auckland, and in 2018 we will be back to Brisbane.

Conference workshops are always enthusiastically attended. Areas covered might include interview techniques, writing reviews, page design and layout, designing ads, website design, writing editorials, and humorous writing.

ARPA awards are presented each year for excellence in religious journalism and publishing in 23 categories, such as Best News Story, Best Layout, Best Photograph, Best Ecumenical Story, Best Social Justice Story, to name a few. These are judged by leading professional journalists and awarded at a dinner at the annual conference.

The Presidential award, the Gutenberg, is presented to a person or publication for overall excellence in religious communication.